2022 EBCL Finals Day


Our finals day was hosted very well by our President Chris Dimond and Lostwithiel BC. Prior to any games being played a minutes silence was held as a mark of respect to our late Queen Elizabeth II.

The weather on the day was dull and overcast with the odd burst of sunshine but still attracted many supporters who witnessed some very good standards of bowling leading to the following results: 

‘Cornish Times Singles’   – Winner – John Kelly. (Callington) 21 – Runner Up Mike Medlen. (Looe) 9.

‘Spencer – Davey Pairs’  – Winners – Glyn Coggon & John Kelly (Callington) 24 – Runners Up – Nigel Williams & Phillip ‘Morley’ Tubb (Lostwithiel) 14.       

‘Couch Triples’   – Winners – Barry Stephens, Dave Lawrence & Stuart Mitchell. (Torpoint) 13 – Runners Up – Bernie Dyer, Nick Trewin & Peter Prynne. (Kensey Vale) 11.     


‘Dennis Fours’ – Winners – Barry Stephens, Derrick Hunt, Dave Lawrence & Stuart Mitchell (Torpoint) 17-   Runners Up – Kevin Harvey, Steve Ball, Jim Ashton & Mike Day. (Saltash) 15. 


The winning players were presented with the designated trophy together with an individual engraved glass and certificate to mark their achievements with all runners up players receiving certificates.  

As a final note: This year saw the best number of entries to the competitions for a number of years with an age range of between 8 to over 80 years.

My thanks to all clubs for supporting the competitions this year.

The food for the day was much appreciated by all and thanks go to Janet Lostwithiel’s Catering Supervisor and helpers Penny and Jackie to Ruth who made the excellent bacon and egg pie and pasties and to other members who made the tasty desserts all served with local cream.

Roger Ellard 

Secretary ECBL       

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *